Affiliated Faculty

Nancy Adler, PhD
Department of Psychiatry
Director, Center for Health and Community
nancy.adler@ucsf.edu

Dorie Apollonio, PhD 
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
dorie.apollonio@ucsf.edu

Lisa A. Bero, PhD
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
lisa.bero@sydney.edu.au

Sigurd Berven, MD
Department of Orthopedic Surgery
bervens@orthosurg.ucsf.edu

Ralph Brindis, MD MPH, MACC, FSCAI, FAHA
Department of Medicine
ralph.brindis@gmail.com

Susan Chapman, MSN, PhD
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences,
School of Nursing
Senior Research Faculty, Center for the Health Professions
Nursing/ Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
susan.chapman@ucsf.edu

Stuart Gansky, DrPH, MS
John C. Greene Endowed Chair in Primary Care Dentistry
Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences
School of Dentistry
Stuart.Gansky@ucsf.edu

Annette Gardner, PhD, MPH
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
annette.gardner@ucsf.edu

Lauren (Liz) Goldman, MD 
Department of Medicine
lauren.goldman@ucsf.edu

Ralph Gonzales, MD, MSPH
Division of General Internal Medicine
Department of Medicine
Ralph.Gonzales@ucsf.edu

Kevin Grumbach, MD  
Department of Family and Community Medicine
kgrumbach@fcm.ucsf.edu

Charles Irwin Jr, MD
Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine
irwinch@peds.ucsf.edu

Jeffrey Lotz, PhD
Center for Disruptive Musculoskeletal Innovations
Orthopaedic Bioengineering Laboratory
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
jeffrey.lotz@ucsf.edu

Robert Lustig, MD
Division of Endocrinology
Department of Pediatrics
rlustig@peds.ucsf.edu

Ruth Malone
Department of Nursing and Social and Behavioral Sciences
Ruth.Malone@ucsf.edu

Wendy Max, PhD
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
Director, Institute for Health & Aging
wendy.max@ucsf.edu

Elizabeth Mertz, PhD, MA
Department of Preventive and Restorative Dentistry, School of Dentistry
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, School of Nursing
elizabeth.mertz@ucsf.edu

Arnold Milstein, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine and Psychiatry
Stanford University
amilstein@stanford.edu

Ulrike Muench, PhD
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
School of Nursing
Ulrike.Muench@ucsf.edu

Rita Redberg, MD
UCSF Division of Cardiology 
Health policy and technology assessment, insurance coverage, medical guidelines and practice
Rita.Redberg@ucsf.edu

Jack Resneck, Jr., MD
Department of Dermatology 
Healthcare delivery, healthcare economics, specialty physician workforce, access to outpatient specialty care, academic medicine, impact of non-physician clinicians, medical liability system, telehealth
Jack.Resneck@ucsf.edu

Diane R. Rittenhouse, MD, MPH
Department of Family and Community Medicine 
Primary care, delivery system design, physician organizations, quality of care, Medicaid, underserved
Diane.Rittenhouse@ucsf.edu

Budd N. Shenkin, MD
School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD
School of Medicine, Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
Rebecca.Smith-Bindman@ucsf.edu

Michael A. Steinman, MD
School of Medicine, Department of Medicine and Geriatrics
Mike.Steinman@ucsf.edu

George Taylor, DMD, DrPH
School of Dentistry, Preventive & Restorative Dental Sciences
George.Taylor@ucsf.edu

David Vlahov, PhD , RN
School of Nursing
David.Vlahov@ucsf.edu

Ellen Weber, MD
School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine
Ellen.Weber@ucsf.edu

James Wiley, PhD
School of Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine
jwiley124@gmail.com